This Week in History

1931 Archive

(Complete)

Green links go to the Valley History Definitions Page

January

Thursday, January 1, 1931

January 2

January 3

January 5

January 7

Thursday, January 8, 1931

January 9

January 10

January 11

January 12

January 13

January 14

Thursday, January 15, 1931

January 16

January 17

January 18

January 20

January 21

Thursday, January 22, 1931

January 23

January 27

January 28

Thursday, January 29, 1931

January 30

January 31

February

Tuesday, February 2, 1931

February 3

Thursday, February 5, 1931

February 6

February 7

February 10

February 11

Thursday, February 12, 1931

February 13

February 14

February 16

February 17

February 18

Saturday, February 21, 1931

February 23

February 24

February 25

Thursday, February 26

February 28

March

Monday, March 2, 1931

March 3

March 4

Thursday, March 5, 1931

March 6

March 8

March 9

March 10

March 11

Thursday, March 12, 1931

March 13

March 14

March 16

March 17

March 18

Thursday, March 19, 1931

March 20

The Sidney Blumenthal Company strike is in its fourth week, and on this date spills beyond Shelton and becomes very serious. Because of this, it will be treated as a separate entry from this point on.

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 21

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 22

March 23

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 24

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 25

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

Thursday, March 26, 1931

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 27

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 28

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 29

March 30

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

March 31

April

April 1

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE

Thursday, April 2, 1931

April 3

April 4

April 5

April 6

April 7

SIDNEY BLUMENTHAL COMPANY STRIKE (last entry)

April 8

Thursday, April 9, 1931

April 10

April 11

April 13

April 15

Saturday, April 18, 1931

April 19

April 20

April 21

April 22

Thursday, April 23, 1931

April 25

April 27

April 29

Thursday, April 30, 1931

May

Friday, May 1, 1931

May 4

May 5

May 6

Thursday, May 7, 1931

SEYMOUR - First Selectman Raymond Gilyard claims to the Police Chief that he has received another threatening letter, with a Derby postmark, that people are "out to get him". This is in the wake of an incident in which he alleges his car was shot at on Old Ansonia Road.

May 8

SEYMOUR - Paramount announces they are unhappy with receipts at Strand Theater, and will stop showing their first run movies there tomorrow.

May 11

May 12

May 13

Thursday, May 14, 1931

May 16

May 18

May 19

May 20

Thursday, May 21, 1931

May 22

May 23

May 24

May 25

May 26

May 27

Thursday, May 28, 1931

May 29

May 30

May 31

June

Tuesday, June 2, 1931

Thursday, June 4, 1931

June 5

June 6

June 7

June 8

June 9

June 10

Sunday, June 14, 1931

June 16

June 17

Friday, June 19, 1931

June 20

June 21

June 22

June 23

June 24

Thursday, June 25, 1931

June 26

June 27

June 28

June 29

June 30

July

Wednesday, July 1, 1931

Captain Isaac Hull, USN.
Born in Derby Conn., March 9, 1773.
Died in Philadelphia, PA February 13, 1843.
As a lieutenant upon the U.S. Frigate
Constitution in the French Naval War of
1798 - 1801 and as Captain of the
Constitution at the beginning of the
conflict with Great Britain in 1812, he
brought glory to his own name and
honor to his country. The victory of
the Constitution under Hull's command
over the Guerriere at a most critical
period in the nation's history, cheered
and strengthened the hearts of the
American people, and made possible
the continuation of the second
war for independence.
This memorial is erected by the citizens
of the two towns where Hull spent the
days of his boyhood and youth,
Derby and Shelton,
Connecticut

Friday, July 3, 1931

INDEPENDENCE DAY

July 6

July 7

July 8

Thursday, July 9, 1931

July 10

July 11

July 12

July 14

July 15

Thursday, July 16, 1931

July 17

July 18

July 20

July 21

Thursday, July 23, 1931

July 24

What is termed the worst thunderstorm of the year thus far hits the area, bringing torrential rain and hail.

July 25

July 27

July 29

August

Saturday, August 1, 1931

August 2

August 3

August 4

August 5

The infantile paralysis epidemic continues.

August 7

August 8

August 9

August 10

August 11

August 12

Thursday, August 13, 1931.