This Week in History

1960 Archive

(complete)

Green links go to the Valley History Definitions Page

January

Friday, January 1, 1960

January 2

Monday, January 4

January 5

January 8

January 9

Sunday, January 10

January 12

January 13

January 14

January 15

January 16

Monday, January 18

January 20

January 21

January 22

January 23

Monday, January 25

January 26

January 27

January 28

January 29

February

Monday, February 1

February 2

February 3

Wednesday, February 10

February 11

February 13

Monday, February 15

February 16

February 17

February 18

February 19

February 20

Sunday, February 21

February 23

February 24

February 25

February 26

February 27

Monday, February 29 (Leap Year)

March

Tuesday, March 1

March 2

March 3

March 4

Monday, March 7

March 8

March 9

March 10

March 11

Monday, March 14

March 15

March 16

March 17

March 18

March 19

Thursday, March 24

March 25

March 26

Monday, March 28

March 29

March 30

March 31

April

Friday, April 1

April 2

April 3

Monday, April 4

April 5

April 6

April 7

April 9

Monday, April 11

April 12

April 13

April 15

April 16

April 17 – Easter Sunday

Monday, April 18

April 19

April 21

April 22

April 23

Monday, April 25

April 27

April 28

May

Tuesday, May 3

May 4

May 5

May 7

May 8

Tuesday, May 10

May 12

May 13

May 14

Wednesday, May 18

Wednesday, May 25

May 26

May 27

May 28

May 29

Monday, May 30 – Memorial Day

May 31

June

Wednesday, June 1

June 4

Monday, June 6

June 7

June 8

June 9

June 10

June 11

June 12

Wednesday, June 15

June 16

June 17

June 19

Monday, June 20

June 22

June 23

June 24

June 25

Monday, June 27

June 28

June 29

June 30

July

Friday, July 1

July 3

Monday, July 4

July 5

July 6

July 7

July 8

Monday, July 11

July 12

July 13

July 14

July 16

July 17

Monday, July 18

July 21

July 22

July 23

Tuesday, July 26

July 27

July 28

July 29

July 30

August

Monday, August 1

August 2

August 3

August 6

Monday, August 8

August 9

August 10

August 12

August 13

Monday, August 15

August 16

August 17

August 19

Monday, August 22

August 24

August 25

August 26

Monday, August 29

August 30

August 31

September

Thursday, September 1

September 3

Monday, September 5, Labor Day

September 6

September 7

September 8

September 10

Monday, September 12

Hurricane Donna strikes the area. Many utility lines are blown down, causing widespread interruptions in power and telephone service. Trees and branches fall in the 70 mile an hour wind gusts, and some streets are washed out. Despite the heavy rain, the Naugatuck River does not crest over its banks. All schools and many places of work are closed.

September 15

September 16

Wednesday, September 21

September 23

Tuesday, September 27

September 29

September 30

October

Saturday, October 1

October 2

Monday, October 3

October 6

October 7

October 8

Wednesday, October 12

October 13

October 14

October 15

Monday, October 17

October 18

October 20

October 21

October 22

October 23

Monday, October 24

October 25

October 26

October 27

October 29

Monday, October 31 – Halloween

November

Tuesday, November 1

November 2

November 3

November 5

November 6

As the 1960 Presidential Campaign draws to a close, Massachusetts Senator John F. Kennedy, Democratic Candidate for President, barnstorms through the Valley in the early morning hours while traveling from the airport in Stratford to Waterbury. He travels with Governor Abraham Ribicoff, Senator Thomas Dodd, and other local congressmen. Thousands line the route in the raw, damp weather. (In order to make his visit easier to follow, the order of towns is presented in the order he visited them).

In other news on this date –

Tuesday, November 8 – Election Day. Democrat John F. Kennedy defeats Republican Richard M. Nixon in the closest Presidential Election in US history.

November 9

November 10

November 11 – Veterans Day

November 12

Monday, November 14

November 16

November 17

November 18

November 19

November 20

Wednesday, November 23

November 24 – Thanksgiving Day

November 25

November 26

Tuesday, November 29

November 30

December

Thursday, December 1

December 2

December 3

Monday, December 5

December 7

December 8

December 10

Monday, December 12